AutoCAD 2014 anyone?

Topical Discussions include anything pertaining to Gunsmithing.

Moderators: Harold_V, JackF, GeorgeGaskill

User avatar
AR15DCM
Posts: 242
Joined: Sat Oct 19, 2013 10:35 pm
Location: Buford, Georgia
Contact:

AutoCAD 2014 anyone?

Post by AR15DCM » Wed Jan 22, 2014 8:20 pm

Anyone using AutoCAD 2014?

Been learning it for a couple weeks now and its fairly easy (so far). Anyone have any tips on making threads?
Dean Miller
Owner RifleCompetition.com
Certified L.E. Armorer M4/M16/AR15

User avatar
ken572
Posts: 2600
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 8:11 pm
Location: Mesa, Arizona. 85201-1517

Re: AutoCAD 2014 anyone?

Post by ken572 » Wed Jan 22, 2014 11:43 pm

AR15DCM wrote:Anyone using AutoCAD 2014?

Been learning it for a couple weeks now and its fairly easy (so far). Anyone have any tips on making threads?
The only tip that I will give you is,
Use it a minimum of at least a little each day, just to keep
it fresh in your mind. Don't let it frustrate you. :wink:
Also remember the 80/20 rule. 80% of the most successful
Auto Cad Pro's only can use about 20% of it's capabilities
in there life time. It's a life time experience. :D

Ken. :)
One must remember.
The best learning experiences come
from working with the older Masters.
Ken.

georgepapa
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2015 6:49 am

Re: AutoCAD 2014 anyone?

Post by georgepapa » Wed Aug 12, 2015 11:51 am

I wonder if it is legal to send you a copy

George

User avatar
ken572
Posts: 2600
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 8:11 pm
Location: Mesa, Arizona. 85201-1517

Re: AutoCAD 2014 anyone?

Post by ken572 » Wed Aug 12, 2015 5:41 pm

George, :shock: :roll:

Not a good idea.

That would be like burning
yourself at the stake.

J.M.H.O.
Ken. :)
One must remember.
The best learning experiences come
from working with the older Masters.
Ken.

Magicniner
Posts: 434
Joined: Thu May 30, 2013 4:40 am

Re: AutoCAD 2014 anyone?

Post by Magicniner » Wed Nov 25, 2015 5:26 pm

AR15DCM wrote:Anyone have any tips on making threads?
Lathe or Mill?
Actually Making or just Solid Modelling?
All threadmill manufacturers have their own applications for generating code for thread milling so you don't even need a CAM package.
If you want to make threads you don't need to model threads to cut them, most CAM software requires a few simple parameters based on the centre point of the diameter to be threaded.
If you want to model things and not make them I'm afraid I can't help - I make threads but don't have the need to model them,

- Nick

WJH
Posts: 1373
Joined: Sat Jan 16, 2010 9:29 pm
Location: Florida

Re: AutoCAD 2014 anyone?

Post by WJH » Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:08 pm

Modeled thread is just a helix path and a v profile that follows the helix. Easy to do in Solidworks. Autocad? I freaking hate Autocad!

hwboivin3
Posts: 544
Joined: Thu May 03, 2007 3:14 pm
Location: OHIO

Re: AutoCAD 2014 anyone?

Post by hwboivin3 » Tue Dec 15, 2015 2:42 am

After scratching my head for a long time, I gave up.

Harold_V
Posts: 16869
Joined: Fri Dec 20, 2002 11:02 pm
Location: Onalaska, WA USA

Re: AutoCAD 2014 anyone?

Post by Harold_V » Tue Dec 15, 2015 4:46 am

WJH wrote:Modeled thread is just a helix path and a v profile that follows the helix. Easy to do in Solidworks. Autocad? I freaking hate Autocad!
It's not that simple.

Harold
Wise people talk because they have something to say. Fools talk because they have to say something.

User avatar
GlennW
Posts: 6609
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2007 9:23 am
Location: Florida

Re: AutoCAD 2014 anyone?

Post by GlennW » Tue Dec 15, 2015 6:00 am

hwboivin3 wrote:After scratching my head for a long time, I gave up.
I did too, and just use a leader note to call out thread specs. on areas needing threads :|
Glenn

Operating machines is perfectly safe......until you forget how dangerous it really is!

JackF
Posts: 1529
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2009 3:56 pm
Location: Caldwell, Idaho

Re: AutoCAD 2014 anyone?

Post by JackF » Tue Dec 15, 2015 11:11 am

Glen, would you please get rid of the bug> I have trashed 3 computer screens trying to kill that thing. :evil: :wink: :lol: I'm typing this on the 4th screen. :roll:

Jack.

User avatar
GlennW
Posts: 6609
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2007 9:23 am
Location: Florida

Re: AutoCAD 2014 anyone?

Post by GlennW » Tue Dec 15, 2015 1:01 pm

What bug?
Glenn

Operating machines is perfectly safe......until you forget how dangerous it really is!

Patio
Posts: 1108
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 3:14 pm
Location: Centralia Wa

Re: AutoCAD 2014 anyone?

Post by Patio » Tue Dec 15, 2015 1:59 pm

Like this?
Pivot bushinga.jpg
I have been using Autodesk Fusion 360 lately, and have been enjoying it so far.
Live for the moment!
Prepare for tomorrow!
Forgive the past!

Post Reply