wire feeder welder

Welding Techniques, Theory, Machines and Questions.

Moderator: Harold_V

golfpin

wire feeder welder

Post by golfpin »

Morning all,
Further to my buzz box problems and my enquiry re Chinese invertor type welders, can any one offer info/experiences with the flux-cored wire feeders, good bad indifferent, sadly Chinese of course. I have had no experience with this equipment what so ever. Have used the CO2 type a little, very easy to use but thinking of the flux-cored route because of the brutal costs inflicted by the Gas Giant Afrox, the rental and demmurrage of the C02 bottles demanded by them is crippling.
To expand a little, and again I hope I am not too far off track but I have been approached by a body here in the village that we live in and to teach welding to the many unskilled indigent people in our area. The reason for my enquiry is based purely on the request for information to try and do the best deal I can to get equipment.
Any info, thoughts, experiences from those who have taught under like circumstances or anywhere else would be greatly appreciated. Also has anyone built a acetylene generator? I know a little about the dangers of acetylene but have used acetylene generator in the past and carbide is readily available here unlike the USA, thoughts on this too would be appreciated.
Cheers Golfpiin.
hammermill

Re: wire feeder welder

Post by hammermill »

many of the china welders I see fail in the feed roll/drive area. wheels are plastic as are maost of the supporting parts.
the harbor freight variety shows up in yard sales often in a striped out condition I suspect from trying to push a stuck wire.

the other are is they draw enough current to need good heavey wireing. often times in house branch circuit wireing isn't up to the task at hand.
Carm

Post by Carm »

Hoe gaan dit maat?