Small brass rod welding ??????

Welding Techniques, Theory, Machines and Questions.

Moderator: Harold_V

Mini bike

Small brass rod welding ??????

Post by Mini bike »

Hello All,
Here is what I'm trying to do. I did this frame with solder. The brass rod is about an 1/8" or so...don't remember right now. A real pain to solder !! My buddy gave me a home MAPP gas kit(small bottle and an air bottle, torch tip and some rods). I have never used a torch before !!! So I have a few questions if you don't mind? I want to weld or braze the brass rod together to makes these kind of mini bike frames for little engines and the rest on my lathe. This was the first one I made. The next one and future ones will be a little snaller. A six inch rule in picture. I am hoping this is the right place to ask all this !!??!!
What do I need first off for my eyes? I wear glasses.
Can I use MAPP gas in my basement ?
What type flux and filler would I use? I don't want to melt the rod while attaching the pieces together.
Thanx for helping !!!!!!

hammermill

Re: Small brass rod welding ??????

Post by hammermill »

fine work on soft soldering.

the mapp gas with the little pony /propane bottles are fine but will quickly prove expensive and you will want to step up to perhaps propane/oxygen or acetylene/oxygen .
there is a set of jewelers torches that all fine detail work when hard and soft soldering.

here is a example
http://www.google.com/products/catalog? ... IEBEPMCMAE

look at the cost of bottles and refills before deciding to buy. getting a larger common size will save a lot of cash over have a od ball that has to be sent in and refilled of just changing them out at the store.

a hint to keep solder away from where you don't want is coat that area with chalk
Mini bike

Post by Mini bike »

Thank you for the reply. The chalk tip should be a big help !!