Which miller Tig to get?

Welding Techniques, Theory, Machines and Questions.

Moderator: Harold_V

Mac metal

Which miller Tig to get?

Post by Mac metal »

I'm a beginner tig welder, but experienced with stick and mig. I'm in the market for a tig machine and am wondering which direction to go? I have a few small uses for it now, but know once I have it, opportunities seem to present themselves.
I was thinking of the:
1.miller multimatic 200, mainly bc of the versatility and if I'm going to spend the $$ I might as well have multiple options/uses for it.
Or
2. Diversion 165 or 180 (but the only draw back I see is the 3/16" max material).

Any feedback, would be greatly appreciated.
-Mac
warmstrong1955

Re: Which miller Tig to get?

Post by warmstrong1955 »

Miller makes good stuff. I still own one, (I have 3 welding machines) and have used, abused, and bought dozens of 'em over the years. Mostly for underground mines, which is about as nasty of an environment as you can get. So...as far as Miller, it's a good choice.

I used to have a 165. It was OK, but it, and all those little guys I've been around, are not as smooth as the real deal. I suspect that the Millermatic 200 falls into the same category. The versatility is nice though. Just depends on what you're gona be doin'....and how much.

If you're after a better performer for TIG welding, take a look at the Syncrowave machines. I have run those 200 & the 250, both very good machines for the money.

Another you might take a look at, is a Lincoln Precision TIG 225. That's what I got to upgrade from my Diversion 165. I bought it because it has a few more features than the Millers Syncrowaves, and a little more power. It is quite a bit larger than the Millers. The package I bought came with everything I needed for TIG, except the argon bottle. I bought mine strictly for TIG welding, but it will stick weld, and if I wanted, I could hook up my wire feeder, change the gas, and MIG weld with it as well.