Tig Welding of Alum. upgrade

Welding Techniques, Theory, Machines and Questions.

Moderator: Harold_V

Wanna-Be

Tig Welding of Alum. upgrade

Post by Wanna-Be »

I'm an old-time welder, starting in 1957. My steamfitter apprenticeship started with 6 months of gas welding training before I ever struck an arch. Shortly into this, I jointed the Navy with further basic welding as a pipefitter/shipfitter. Then into advanced "C-1" welding school, which in the late '50s-early '60s was mostly stick welding for about 6 month, through submarine pressure hull welding. Only in the more advanced class was in nuclear component welding and that would have been the first opportunity to tig weld. I only made it through the pressure hull welding and returned to work and apply my earned skills, mostly in pipe work and general fabrication. So my only regret was that I didn't get a chance to learn more about Tig welding. Mig welding was just coming out then but the shops I worked in were still using stick and gas welding.