silver solder

Welding Techniques, Theory, Machines and Questions.

Moderator: Harold_V

golfpin

silver solder

Post by golfpin »

A very good day to all,
a little advice, guidance please, I have been given a copper/ brass fondue "Pot" to repair, it is leaking. I am a competent welder gas tig mig and a few of the older ones, here is my problem. This artifact is very old comes out of old Europe and I believe is quite valuable. How can I determine what it has been "joined" with, without it falling apart? Could it be silver solder 20% grade. Lower fusing temp?
I don,t think it is tinman,s or plumber solder but I don,t want to put heat on it unless I am reasonably sure what I am dealing with. When was silver solder first used?
To describe it, it is a fondue pot that takes hot embers in the top and the bottom while the bowl is sweated/soldered to the flue. Here is were the problem started I think someone used perhaps charcoal, too much heat, and then the "solder" melted and the pot, the "moat" that surrounds the flue in which the fondue sauce is, started to leak at the flanged juncture of flue and moat, point of solder. Am afraid am hopeless at taking pics and then loading them on to the site obviously this would clarify a lot. Would like to effect a repair at the leak rather than dissasmble the whole thing I think it would be a can of worms, no copper smiths left I,m afraid. Any thoughts or views would be appreciated.
Thanks Golfpin
hammermill

Re: silver solder

Post by hammermill »

if it is soft solder it will have a low melting temperature. but if it is in contact with the food area then it is really unsafe to use. also if it got hot enough to melt the solder the internal part of the joint is now contaminated and short of a complete disassemble, clean, clean again flux and re solder I doubt you will ever get it sealed.
here is a good overview

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Solder
steamin10

Post by steamin10 »