Miller Econo Twin HF

Welding Techniques, Theory, Machines and Questions.

Moderator: Harold_V

Wanna-Be

Miller Econo Twin HF

Post by Wanna-Be »

I have had this machine for a number of years and used it primarily for Tig of steel and stainless. Very basic machine for that purpose.
Now I want to tig aluminum and I'm told I need some method of control of the start and finish of my weld. "Soft Arc" is a term that I have heard.
Does this have something to do with freq. control?? and can it be controlled thou a foot pedal plugged into the HF control plug?? Or is there something more that I should do. Or does this start/stop control have to do with current control. (just guessing here!)

Admittedly, I am a newbie to tig welding, being trained and experienced in stick and gas welding since trade and US navy welding schools. Mig and some tig has been self taught with advice from others. I would really love to get into aluminum tig but want to keep the equipment limit to what I have with possible upgrades. My Mig has Tig abilities but is only DC no AC. The Miller looks like a good possibility, I hope.

thank,

Ole Steve
Jet vert Mill, Champion 12X30 lathe, Amer. Mach. Tool radial drill, 24X60 LeBlond lathe, Scharmann 3" Hrz Brg Mill, Steptoe 18" Shaper, S/B Shaper,B&S (No.4 36") Gear Cutting Mach., Verson 22.5T Press Brake, Enco 12" hrz. saw, McEnglevan foundry furnace, Rockwell 14X42 lathe, K&T 2H univ horz. mill,DoAll 16-2 Vrt. bandsaw,Canedy-Otto drill press,Buffalo Iron Worker
redneckalbertan

Re: Miller Econo Twin HF

Post by redneckalbertan »

If you don't have a manual miller has it on their website here: http://www.millerwelds.com/om/o302j_mil.pdf

After skinning through the manual I am assuming that you are using scratch start right now and have a gas valve on your torch that you manually turn before starting and after finishing your weld, is that correct?