Making dies???

Sheet Metal Fabrication techniques, questions and help. "Tricks of the Trade"

Moderators: GlennW, Harold_V

tittlek

Making dies???

Post by tittlek »

I should mention I been lurking here for some time and I am an absolute newb at metalworking, but I have learned a lot already just from this forum. I have a question regarding tubing benders and this seemed to be the most appropriate forum to ask this question. Especially since it seems there are a few other posts about making dies... albeit for a different type of machine. I should also mention I am the type of person that would rather build something (usually a tool) than buy something that is readily available from a retailer so that I can learn something in the prcoess. I guess thats what makes me a hobbiest [img]/ubb/images/graemlins/smile.gif"%20alt="[/img]

I have seen homebuilt tubing benders that cost their owners much less than if they bought one. With this knowlede in hand I was planning on taking a broken hydraulic shop press and modifying it to work as a hydraulic bender. I am basing the design on the "bow and arrow" style bender. The only thing I see wrong with fabricating my own bender is that I have no idea how I would make the dies needed to get the proper radius bend without crushing the tube. From what I have seen they can be made of either cast aluminum or iron. Also I noticed if one were to buy these dies they can run around 100 dollars a piece. Seeing as I have a limited amount of knowlege and tools would it be feasible for me to make my own dies or should I just bite the bullet and drop 100 bucks on a die to fit my homebuilt? Or Should I swallow even harder and buy an entire bender with a die? The reason I wanted to build my own is because I also have limited shop space and I figured I could rig my homebuilt machine to handle a few processes in the same floor space (pressing/bending/etc...)