New & purchasing decision

This forum is dedicated to those hobbyists with the 3-in-1 metalworking machines. Mill-Drill-Lathes. Tips, techniques, modification and use of these machines is topical.

Moderator: Harold_V

RegisG

New & purchasing decision

Post by RegisG »

BACKGROUND
New guy here & to machining as I'm a retired computer hardware/software tech. I've had only a little machining experience and that was 15+ years ago. I am looking to buy combo lathe & mill to make a variety of small hobby things like items related to benchrest target shooting (no internal gun work) and have a few questions. I will not be doing any production work unless it's 5 or 10 of a particular item and a combo machine will fit just fine in my garage.

I don't know of any small or home shops in this area so I don't have opportunity to look at someone's tools/shop setup.
In searching, it looks like Smithy has the best support and even some training information so I'm looking close at their Granite Max. Am I missing support & training info for another makers? As best I can tell, most of the combo machines (of similar size/power) are very close except for cleanup & inspection in USA. Actually I can't find manufacture support on any except Smithy and Grizzly. If someone knows of any brand combo lathe mill dealers in the Nashville area, I'd for sure go there first.

I guess the bottom line is that I know that I'll need more support than experienced machinists getting a new machine so, that holds about as much importance as machine accuracy & reliability. I do have a pretty good grasp of speed/feed and some tooling so once setup and functioning properly, I can do simple projects and begin growing. Sounds funny saying that at 71...

I appreciate any tips on making decision on machine with support in mind. And, any "watch-out-for" tips as well.

Thank you,
Regis
redneckalbertan

Re: New & purchasing decision

Post by redneckalbertan »