New member and new L-H009

This forum is dedicated to those hobbyists with the 3-in-1 metalworking machines. Mill-Drill-Lathes. Tips, techniques, modification and use of these machines is topical.

Moderator: Harold_V

rdenis

New member and new L-H009

Post by rdenis »

Hi folks, my name is Rich. I just turned 40 and decided to take up machining as a new hobby. My highschool was never fortunate enough to have a machine shop way back when so I never had the opportunity to get into machining at an early age. 20 years later with a family and lifetime as a chartered accountant I've decided life is too short - in length and experiences.

I've always loved working with my hands and have been a hobbyist woodworker and motorcycle mechanic despite my alter ego life as an accountant. So for my 40th birthday my wife bought me a Magnum L-H009 3-in-1 multimachine, bandsaw, plasma cutter and a MIG welder and spool gun.

Ahhh, a mid-life crisis is a good thing. Anyway, I am trying to read up as much as I can about lathes, mills, metallurgy etc. to gain some small understanding of the theory behind cutting, milling, turning, etc. It is awesome and I can't wait to try turning my first piece.

But first, I need to get some ducks in a row and am pretty sure the wealth of knowledge here can help me out. So, if anyone can recommend/suggest/add to/etc. the following, please chime in:

1) Is there a "Machining for Dummies" equivalent for people like me who have never turned on a lathe let alone turned a piece in in a lathe?

2) Precision measuring tools - I have 6" inside and outside calipers, digital caliper (chinese), 6" divider and a couple of 1" dial indicators. I do not have any micrometers nor a machinst level - how critical are these and do you have recommendations?