3in1 tooling ??

This forum is dedicated to those hobbyists with the 3-in-1 metalworking machines. Mill-Drill-Lathes. Tips, techniques, modification and use of these machines is topical.

Moderator: Harold_V

file weary

3in1 tooling ??

Post by file weary »

Hello,Ithink? I am not very good with this fancy dam Tureing machine,I cant FEEL it working.I want to buy a 3 in 1. it has to be better than files,hand grinder and 39.95 drillpress. I also have a UNIMAT DB 200 from the 60s. it rattles loudly and accurate to 1/16 on a good day.I have $16oo for a machine,shipping and tooling.looking for used but no luck so far. I was hoping some of you could give a list of the first 5 or 6.... tools,bits,things you needed to be up and running.Probably milling mostly, I have some lathe bits. unless i get lucky ,probably get the cm 5980. If I get the #44142 or anything heavyer i will have to cut some holes in the floor of my shed and put some posts down into the dirt. it has 2x4 floor joists on top of rocks and bricks and blocks and things.came with the house. also does enyone know about theTSK universal tilting rotary table? I make alot of odd shapes and angles. it looked useful.2 hours to type 12 lines, i am getting faster! May all your chips be curled file weary
ken572

Re: 3in1 tooling ??

Post by ken572 »

Hello! file weary,

How Big is your shed?? If it were me I would jack up the shed and
support it on some 6"x6" wood beams and drag it on the beams off
to one side. Form up the floor area and pour a cement floor in, and
after a 3 week cure, drag the shed up on the new cement and put
anchor bolts etc., around the bottom plates and you will have a nice
floor. Build your bench and lathe base and your good to go. :wink:
(just my 2 cents) :)

Ken.
One must remember.
The best learning experiences come
from working with the older Masters.
Ken.
Torch

Re: 3in1 tooling ??

Post by Torch »