New guy and new HF 5980

This forum is dedicated to those hobbyists with the 3-in-1 metalworking machines. Mill-Drill-Lathes. Tips, techniques, modification and use of these machines is topical.

Moderator: Harold_V

Dan

New guy and new HF 5980

Post by Dan »

Howdy all,

I am completely new to this. In the past, I have needed bushings, odds and ends. (I take perfectly good bicycles and attach engines to them) My local machine shops are great but last time I needed a bushing, they took 2 weeks and later told me they stopped working on a $30K part to knock out my $80 bushing. I saw the HF 5980. Was a bit of an impulse buy but expletive loving this thing. If any thing, it is much more then I need.

Only problem so far is I have no idea how to run it, lol. Have been reading up on it a few hours every day and it gets more exciting with every new thing I learn I can do with it.

Bought some stuff for her today.
1230 Center Drills, Set of 5 (Numbers 1-5)
1593 Dial Indicator and Magnetic Base
1705 End Mill Holder, 3/8" 2MT - 3/8-16

Dunno if any one is interested but this is the manual; http://images.harborfreight.com/manuals ... 9/5980.PDF

My first project is a bushing to go over a 5/8 keyed shaft. The CVT (That is a racing go kart clutch that is sort of a automatic transmission) has 3/4 I/D http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Continuous ... ansmission

My plan is to drill out 3/4 brass round bar with a 5/8 4 fluke end mill. (slowly) leaving 1 1/4" to extend the shaft. The CVT is wider then the shaft is long. It will also need 3 key ways.

Sorry about the wall of text.
Attachments
IMG_20110623_131716.jpg
IMG_20110626_140710.jpg
IMG_20110626_140836.jpg
IMG_20110703_203125.jpg
Dan
Harold_V

Re: New guy and new HF 5980

Post by Harold_V »

Dan wrote:My plan is to drill out 3/4 brass round bar with a 5/8 4 fluke end mill. (slowly) leaving 1 1/4" to extend the shaft. The CVT is wider then the shaft is long. It will also need 3 key ways.