Taper distortion Smithy Midas 1220XL

This forum is dedicated to those hobbyists with the 3-in-1 metalworking machines. Mill-Drill-Lathes. Tips, techniques, modification and use of these machines is topical.

Moderator: Harold_V

Jerry323

Taper distortion Smithy Midas 1220XL

Post by Jerry323 »

Hello group. I'm a newbie, so sorry up-front for my ignorance.

I am trying out a three year-old Smithy lathe for the first time and am getting a taper distortion cutting 0.25" diameter 360 alloy brass rod stock. The brass is chucked into a three jaw chuck and is unsupported at the tail end. I am moving the tool from left to right and am getting a taper where the widest end is to the left. The entire rod stock protrudes approximately 1.5: from the chuck and is cut approximately 0.020" inch per pass. The diameter taper is approximately 0.020" over 1.10" length. I'm attaching a diagram showing this issue. What could be wrong?

Thanks for the input, and again, I'm a novice so please be gentle.
Attachments
Visio-Lathe Error.pdf
diagram in pdf
(10.82 KiB) Downloaded 433 times
Torch

Re: Taper distortion Smithy Midas 1220XL

Post by Torch »

I'm hoping Harold will jump in here, but I suspect it might be related to the unsupported end. The brass may be flexing away from the tool on the right side whereas it cannot flex away on the chuck end. I would try to support the tailstock end and see what happens. Also, check the tool rake angle. I know conventional wisdom states brass is cut with 0° rake, but there are different types of brass out there. I have found a little rake (7° or less) doesn't hurt and might help counteract the push with a little pull.
Jerry323

Post by Jerry323 »