HF 5980 3 in 1 Mill Chuck Stuck

This forum is dedicated to those hobbyists with the 3-in-1 metalworking machines. Mill-Drill-Lathes. Tips, techniques, modification and use of these machines is topical.

Moderator: Harold_V

BentTooner

HF 5980 3 in 1 Mill Chuck Stuck

Post by BentTooner »

Hi, all

I am new to machining and to this web site. I recently got a used Harbor Freight 3 in 1 model 5980. The mill has a Jacobs chuck in the quill head and I've read that one should not mill with a drill chuck. I understand it's better to use a tool holder such as a collet for the end mill.

I read the manual and it says to strike the drawbar with a hammer to release the chuck. I have tried this and the chuck is not moving. I'm afraid to strike it too hard for fear of damaging threads, bearings, etc. I've added penetrating oil from the top and bottom to try to loosen it up but it's not moving at all.

Does anyone have any tips for getting the chuck out? For example, would it be safe to use some kind of spreader at the chuck end?

Thanks!
Harold_V

Re: HF 5980 3 in 1 Mill Chuck Stuck

Post by Harold_V »

BentTooner wrote:I read the manual and it says to strike the drawbar with a hammer to release the chuck. I have tried this and the chuck is not moving.
Did you back off the drawbar first? (Just a couple turns---and it should be a right hand thread. No, I'm not trying to be a wise guy :wink: ). Once it breaks loose, you should be able to twist the drawbar out effortlessly.
would it be safe to use some kind of spreader at the chuck end?
That's likely to remove the chuck from its shank, which isn't your objective.

Welcome to the forum.

Harold
Wise people talk because they have something to say. Fools talk because they have to say something.
Torch

Post by Torch »