HSS cutoff tool with aluminum bogging motor

This forum is dedicated to those hobbyists with the 3-in-1 metalworking machines. Mill-Drill-Lathes. Tips, techniques, modification and use of these machines is topical.

Moderator: Harold_V

BentTooner

HSS cutoff tool with aluminum bogging motor

Post by BentTooner »

12-5-11
Hi,

I'm new to machining.

I'm trying to part off a 0.900" aluminum rod on the lathe of my HF5980 "3 in 1 tool."

I've got a new HSS parting tool (straight out of the box) set to cut at the midway point of the rod, sticking out about 1/2", I'm cutting near the chuck and the lathe is set to the slowest speed.

I'm using cutting oil but the cutting tool bogs down and stops the lathe motor when I advance it into the rod.

I put a straight, pointed lathe bit in the tool holder and I can cut 90 degrees directly into the rod with a nice ribbon of aluminum coming off the bit. No problem. I could cut off the part with this bit and then face the end to get a square end, I guess... Seems wasteful.

Was I supposed to sharpen the cutoff tool or is there something else I'm missing?

Thanks so much for any pointers!!
Torch

Re: HSS cutoff tool with aluminum bogging motor

Post by Torch »

BentTooner wrote:I'm trying to part off a 0.900" aluminum rod on the lathe of my HF5980 "3 in 1 tool."

I've got a new HSS parting tool (straight out of the box) set to cut at the midway point of the rod, sticking out about 1/2", I'm cutting near the chuck and the lathe is set to the slowest speed.

I'm using cutting oil but the cutting tool bogs down and stops the lathe motor when I advance it into the rod.

I put a straight, pointed lathe bit in the tool holder and I can cut 90 degrees directly into the rod with a nice ribbon of aluminum coming off the bit. No problem. I could cut off the part with this bit and then face the end to get a square end, I guess... Seems wasteful.

Was I supposed to sharpen the cutoff tool or is there something else I'm missing?