building the galloping goose #2

This forum is dedicated to Riding Scale Railroading with propulsion using other than steam (Hydraulics, diesel engines, gas engines, electric motors, hybrid etc.)

Moderator: Harold_V

dryan3165

building the galloping goose #2

Post by dryan3165 »

I am looking into building the Galloping goose #2 using Plum Cove motors and controls with deep cycle batteries since it has a bigger body. Im desiging in solidworks the frame and body but was wondering if anyone has already done this who could lead me in the right direction. I'm a machinist by trade for over 20 years so Im current with the machining terms used in industry. Any help I would greatly appreciate.
makinsmoke

Re: building the galloping goose #2

Post by makinsmoke »

Mark Seibert built one as did Rich Ulin. I believe Mark's was gasoline/mechanical and Rich's was electric as he had a sound system installed.

The trucks are fairly simple arch bar affairs. The rear or drive truck has the axles extended through the wheels to allow sprockets to be attached. The front axle is driven by the engine or motor and the rear by chains and sprockets. Powering the front axle with the Plum Cove affair should be an easy deal.

Both Geese above were built in 2-1/2" scale. One rode inside Mark's goose while Rich's had a roof you rode on.

There are plenty of details of the prototype available. I have built a three truck goose and have some experience and learning curves I can provide.

Take care,
Brian
dryan3165

Post by dryan3165 »

Thanks Brian for the info and anyting else you think of would be great. Do you have pictures of the three truck goose? I was thinking of make the #7 goose but wanted to start smaller with the #2.
ironhorseriley

Post by ironhorseriley »