Chained to a metric sprocket!

This forum is dedicated to Riding Scale Railroading with propulsion using other than steam (Hydraulics, diesel engines, gas engines, electric motors, hybrid etc.)

Moderator: Harold_V

JoeKahan

Chained to a metric sprocket!

Post by JoeKahan »

Hello All,
So I'm just getting started in the live steam/ride-on hobby and I'm on a very limited budget. I'm building a battery powered Goose type thing for my first loco and I have a couple of questions regarding my drive system. I have the guts out of an electric wheelchair (2 24vdc motors with angle drives, control electronics, seat) that I think would work. I plan on using two deep cycle batteries. Here's the hitch. The angle drive outputs are 20mm shafts with 5mm square keyways. I'd like to use ANSI 35 or 40 chain for the drive but can't find a stock sprocket like that. Am I not looking in the right places or is this something that I will need to make? I could get a sprocket for a 1/2" or 3/4” shaft and machine it to match the shaft, but just wondering if some solution already exists. Also, since the two motors and drives are the same, is there anything "wrong" with having them both drive a common axle shaft? For certain reasons, I'm considering having just one drive axle.
Thanks for your thoughts or ideas,
Joe
steamin10

Re: Chained to a metric sprocket!

Post by steamin10 »

At some point you must cross over from the M&M's, and go with more readily available chains, sprockets and parts. So given the control for two drive motors, 24 volt, and the desire for heavy chains, ( #40 is my fave ), I would custom cut the drive for your shafts and go from there. It is easy to file a key to a size you need, without monkying with the shaft itself, and a step key if needed can be hacked out of larger key stock with a saw and file, so no sweat except for the arm motions.

Salvaging the core drive parts is half the battle, so now just work the details.