Fire In the Hole! - (Keeping the Fire Going)

This forum is dedicated to Riding Scale Railroading with propulsion using other than steam (Hydraulics, diesel engines, gas engines, electric motors, hybrid etc.)

Moderator: Harold_V

Builder01

Fire In the Hole! - (Keeping the Fire Going)

Post by Builder01 »

Finally got some soft (bituminous) coal today! It is blacksmith coal from Utah. Thanks to everyone that suggested this would probably be the way to go. I was able to start a fire and keep it going with the softer coal.

Ran my loco on the test stand for at least 45 minutes to an hour. The toughest part was getting it started. I wanted to start it on wood, but, I could never get that to work. Maple is too hard, (would not really light) and bass was too soft (burned up too quickly). So, back to my kerosene soaked and broken up charcoal briquettes. Did not take much after a roaring fire with the briquettes, the soft coal finally caught and started to burn!

I am totally new to this and the experience was so cool. The flames shooting out from the coal was something I have never seen before, burning rocks! In any case, I will get some real lump charcoal for a fire starter. I think Tractor Supply sells it.

Thanks again for everyone's help and suggestions.

David
kcameron

Re: Fire In the Hole! - (Keeping the Fire Going)

Post by kcameron »

David,

It might make a nice display for the FLLS Open House. If you get it further, so much the better. We are trying to improve our 'information displays' for the visitors. Give it a thought.
-ken cameron
Syracuse Model Railroad Club http://www.SyracuseModelRr.org/
CNY Modelers http://www.cnymod.com/
Finger Lakes Live Steamers http://www.fingerlakeslivesteamers.org/
Member JMRI Developer Team http://www.jmri.org/
mailto: kcameron@twcny.rr.com
In the Upstate New York US area of the world
Builder01

Post by Builder01 »

Hi Ken,