Surveying techniques?

This forum is dedicated to Riding Scale Railroading with propulsion using other than steam (Hydraulics, diesel engines, gas engines, electric motors, hybrid etc.)

Moderator: Harold_V

stickfigure

Surveying techniques?

Post by stickfigure »

Maybe this is a dumb question, but I am new to the hobby (hi all!)

How do you go about deciding on the exact route, and how do you ensure that construction follows the plan? What tools do you use to ensure that grades stay even and within your planned percentage? Transits? Laser levels? Or do you just eyeball it? Are there any books or online resources that go over this stuff?

I guess I'm mostly concerned with the grade. Radiusing a turn with a length of rope seems straightforward enough... although now that I think about it, doing that on a hill probably requires an angle measurement and high-school trig. Right?

Thanks in advance,
Jeff
jcbrock

Re: Surveying techniques?

Post by jcbrock »

You can make a career out of this Jeff, plenty of people do! One of the things you didn't mention which becomes a very big deal is planning and minimizing your borrow and fill and the distance you move them. Just throwing that out there so you think about it a bit, as one of the first things you want to do is get some rough elevations of where you'd like the track to go. Next thing is to lay out your critical curves, then joining them up is pretty 'straightforward'.