Rail wear on aluminum track

This forum is dedicated to Riding Scale Railroading with propulsion using other than steam (Hydraulics, diesel engines, gas engines, electric motors, hybrid etc.)

Moderator: Harold_V

pwcphoto

Rail wear on aluminum track

Post by pwcphoto »

Looking for information on the wear of aluminum rail based on wheel base vs curve radius.

Any links would be helpful.

Phil
"I used to be a rocket scientist, now i am just a space cadet"

RMI 3.75" scale Prairie 2-6-2 under construction.
View Progress
http://www.southerncalifornialivesteamers.com/Forum/forum_topics.asp?FID=18&SID=336957b14adb9765a37dez9785dz6cz7&title=steam-locomotive-construction
willy

Post by willy »

the only problem I know of, is at the track here in cherryfield. A locomotive was being run at faster than normal speeds around a curve. Our track affixed with nails (now being screws) eventually was lifting the nails out of the ties (outside rail).
pwcphoto

Post by pwcphoto »

The problem we are seeing is that one of our locomotives or cars, have not found out which one yet, is shaving metal from the inside of the outer rails on some curves. It is gauged fairly wide to compensate for the small curve radius but it still happens. This last run day we had a number of derailments, which is not normal for our track, and noticed the fresh metal shavings. We try to keep our track speeds down to a very safe rate so that is probably no a cause.

We are replacing the rail with new stuff but wanted to get an idea on track gauge vs truck length on the diesels or wheel base on the steamers before we chew up some more track.

We use plastic ties and screw them in so they are fairly secure. We are in process of replacing all of our wood ties that have been in the ground for almost 25 years.

Phil

View Progress
http://www.southerncalifornialivesteamers.com/Forum/forum_topics.asp?FID=18&SID=336957b14adb9765a37dez9785dz6cz7&title=steam-locomotive-construction
Mike Walsh

Post by Mike Walsh »