Galloping Goose-My First project

This forum is dedicated to Riding Scale Railroading with propulsion using other than steam (Hydraulics, diesel engines, gas engines, electric motors, hybrid etc.)

Moderator: Harold_V

James A

Galloping Goose-My First project

Post by James A »

I have a HO club friend who has 1.6" on his property and also is a machinist by trade with a large machine shop. This is the only scale he works in. I spent a Saturday a few months back helping him fix some track and then running his trains. I got hooked. I spent some time looking around at what's out there in this scale looking for a much larger project but ended up with everything I need to build one of the Discover Live Steam Galloping Geese. He's helped me with some welding and showed me how to use one of his mills so I could make a couple of aluminum brackets. Here a couple of pictures. of my progress.

This was just before we test ran it with a riding car.

Disassembled, sandblasted and primed.
Pontiacguy1

Re: Galloping Goose-My First project

Post by Pontiacguy1 »

Nice Work. You'll be out there riding the rails soon.

I've thought about building one of those for my kids to be able to ride around on, and of course just cruise around on without having to fire up a steamer.
James A

Post by James A »

Pontiacguy1 wrote:Nice Work. You'll be out there riding the rails soon.

I've thought about building one of those for my kids to be able to ride around on, and of course just cruise around on without having to fire up a steamer.

Thanks, it's been a fun project so far. My goal is to build a steamer. Today I painted everything black. I should have the running gear back on by the weekend. The castings are cleaned up and ready to tap and pre-assemble, then paint.
Patrick.B

Post by Patrick.B »

Very cool.