Cast brass for lathe parts?

Topics include, Machine Tools & Tooling, Precision Measuring, Materials and their Properties, Electrical discussions related to machine tools, setups, fixtures and jigs and other general discussion related to amateur machining.

Moderators: GlennW, Harold_V

Water-mark

Cast brass for lathe parts?

Post by Water-mark »

A few year ago i picked up an old RandA type A long bed, It's a whopping 20" between centres and a 6" swing.
It was in pretty poor shape and missing several parts but gradually I've go it into running order and starting to turn parts.

Amongst the missing parts are any steadies, a compound slide and I could use a couple of extra back plates.
I've already made up some half nuts and a post to raise the QCTP in absence of the compound out of brass that I cast in my small foundry.

This got me to thinking if I could cast steady frames and chuck backplates from brass ( I'm a plumber so have no shortage of brass scrap )
I have the scrap, the foundry and a milling machine to make them (maybe even a small compound slide if I get adventurous).

The only thing I'm a little unsure of as I can't find any examples is, is it a suitable material for these parts?

Any help, opinions or educated guess work greatly appreciated.
SteveM

Re: Cast brass for lathe parts?

Post by SteveM »

I'm no expert, but cast iron has dampening properties that brass (and even steel) doesn't have.

I've been told you can use Fortal aluminum as a backplate (I think it's 7075).

Using brass for a backplate may work, but there may be unwanted vibrations that will show up on the workpiece.

If it's all you've got, it may be better than nothing.

Steve
Water-mark

Post by Water-mark »

Thanks for the reply.

I could buy cast iron back plate blanks as they are readily available and fairly cheap and I could weld up a steel steady and paint it as it's unlikely to be available ever.