How to correct mistakes

Topics include, Machine Tools & Tooling, Precision Measuring, Materials and their Properties, Electrical discussions related to machine tools, setups, fixtures and jigs and other general discussion related to amateur machining.

Moderators: GlennW, Harold_V

Mr Ron

How to correct mistakes

Post by Mr Ron »

As an amateur machinist, I try to machine a part to within a thousandth of an inch of it's design dimension. I can take too much off or not take enough off. How to correct this? If not enough has been removed, it becomes a matter of going back over the part and removing more material. By doing this, I take a risk of ending up taking off too much. At this juncture, I can scrap the part and start all over. My projects are all one off, so interchangeability is not a problem. Rather than starting over from scratch, I will make a design change using the arrived at dimension of the part. Although having deviated from the original design dimensions, the parts will still work as intended. I'm not happy when that happens, but I am only an amateur. I try hard to maintain a dimension, but I don't always do so. To a perfectionist like Harold V, it would not be acceptable.

What do you, forum members, both experienced and amateur think about my approach to machining? I'm sure there are amateurs out there who can produce extremely precise work, but I am not one of them. At 82, I am running out of time and realize I will never get to go to that machine shop in the sky.
Mr.Ron from South Mississippi
whateg0

Re: How to correct mistakes

Post by whateg0 »