Sheet metal for building a tender and ballast car?

Topics include, Machine Tools & Tooling, Precision Measuring, Materials and their Properties, Electrical discussions related to machine tools, setups, fixtures and jigs and other general discussion related to amateur machining.

Moderators: GlennW, Harold_V

Glenn Brooks

Sheet metal for building a tender and ballast car?

Post by Glenn Brooks »

Hello all,

I am planning on starting construction of a 1/4 scale tender for my 12" ga 4-4-0. Also need to build a ballast car (maybe about 8' x 24" wide x 32" tall.)

Can anyone advise what thickness and type of material would be optimal for the body of these type cars - given 1/4 scale and riveted construction?

(I am a novice regarding sheet metal work :shock: )

Thanks much!

Glenn
Moderator - Grand Scale Forum

Motive power : 1902 A.S.Campbell 4-4-0 American - 12 5/8" gauge, 1955 Ottaway 4-4-0 American 12" gauge

Ahaha, Retirement: the good life - drifting endlessly on a Sea of projects....
CaptonZap

Re: Sheet metal for building a tender and ballast car?

Post by CaptonZap »

18 or 16 ga should do it, if you have the ribs along the length. Mild steel, of course. Most sheet metal shop can shear and break the iron.

CZ
Gary Armitstead

Post by Gary Armitstead »

I know you are working in a much larger scale than my 1/8th scale Baldwin electric........but I used 16ga. steel sheet metal. To beef up the walls, I had the sheet metal shop make some 1/2 X 1/2 inch angle stock 16ga. Made it very solid.
Gary Armitstead
Burbank, CA
Member LALS since 1980
Member Goleta Valley Railroad Club 1980-1993
Mr Ron

Post by Mr Ron »