Buying drill bits

Topics include, Machine Tools & Tooling, Precision Measuring, Materials and their Properties, Electrical discussions related to machine tools, setups, fixtures and jigs and other general discussion related to amateur machining.

Moderators: GlennW, Harold_V

Mr Ron

Buying drill bits

Post by Mr Ron »

After looking at catalogs of shop supplies (MSC), I am overwhelmed by the different types and materials of drill bits available. On top of that, there are many different manufacturers supplying the same basic item. I am looking for the best drill bit for aluminum, specifically wrought alloys (6061,2024, 7075). The price for a 1/4" bit can range anywhere from a couple of dollars to $50 and more. I would like to get a selection of most used bits, some fractional and some numbered, for use on aluminum. I'm looking for around 15 bits. What are your recommendations as to manufacturer, cost, import, domestic. I am an amateur machinist, so production is not a factor. I want something that will last , but not be prohibitively expensive. What say you?

P.S. Which do you think would be the best path to take; ie: qty 5 HSS 1/4" bit vs qty 1 carbide 1/4" bit. I know there are many factors that enter into such a decision, but take it from an amateur's point of view. Who would think there would be so many opinions!
Mr.Ron from South Mississippi
Steggy

Re: Buying drill bits

Post by Steggy »