I want to make new lathe feed dials

Topics include, Machine Tools & Tooling, Precision Measuring, Materials and their Properties, Electrical discussions related to machine tools, setups, fixtures and jigs and other general discussion related to amateur machining.

Moderators: Harold_V, websterz, GlennW

Post Reply
Mr Ron
Posts: 1790
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 12:36 pm
Location: Vancleave, Mississippi

I want to make new lathe feed dials

Post by Mr Ron » Sun Jan 14, 2018 5:26 pm

I watched a video on how to make new lathe dials. In it , a 100 tooth saw blade was used to index the 100 scribed lines on the dial. Great! I can do that, but I checked the dials on my Sheldon lathe and those dials are scribed with 125 divisions. I searched for something that had 125 divisions on it and came up with nothing; no saw blade or gear. I don't have a dividing head, only a spin indexer that has 1° increments. Do you have any ideas how to get the 125 divisions without a dividing head. The increments on a 125 dial are 2.88° apart.
Mr.Ron from South Mississippi

User avatar
liveaboard
Posts: 776
Joined: Sun Dec 08, 2013 1:40 pm
Location: southern Portugal
Contact:

Re: I want to make new lathe feed dials

Post by liveaboard » Sun Jan 14, 2018 5:36 pm

Could you use the old dial as a guide?
I used a dial from my lathe as a guide to make a dial for another machine with the same pitch feed screw.

Magicniner
Posts: 506
Joined: Thu May 30, 2013 4:40 am

Re: I want to make new lathe feed dials

Post by Magicniner » Sun Jan 14, 2018 7:09 pm

Make a strip of material which wraps exactly around your dial.
Then mark it out -

https://www.mathopenref.com/constdividesegment.html

Grade school geometry, or it used to be,

John Hasler
Posts: 1242
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2016 4:05 pm
Location: Elmwood, Wisconsin

Re: I want to make new lathe feed dials

Post by John Hasler » Sun Jan 14, 2018 7:58 pm

4 teeth on your 100 tooth blade is 5 divisions on your dial. Mark every 5th division using the 100 tooth blade and then interpolate.

User avatar
WesHowe
Posts: 175
Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2015 9:52 am
Location: Huntsville, Texas

Re: I want to make new lathe feed dials

Post by WesHowe » Sun Jan 14, 2018 8:05 pm

Maybe put the new dial on your lathe, an indicator on the toolpost, then crank the dial 0.001" on the indicator and make a mark to line up with the index line. Don't forget about backlash, always move in only one direction.

Mr Ron
Posts: 1790
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 12:36 pm
Location: Vancleave, Mississippi

Re: I want to make new lathe feed dials

Post by Mr Ron » Sun Jan 14, 2018 8:23 pm

The old dials are small and pretty worn. I want to make larger dials. Possibly I can layout a strip with 125 divisions using Autocad©; cut it out and wrap it around a cylinder, the circumference of which will accommodate the strip.
Mr.Ron from South Mississippi

User avatar
Orrin
Posts: 307
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2003 12:24 pm
Location: SE Washington State, near Moscow, Idaho

Re: I want to make new lathe feed dials

Post by Orrin » Mon Jan 15, 2018 8:59 am

Take a length of band saw blade and count 100 teeth. Now, cut a disk of plywood either using a sander or mounting it on your lathe to cut it true. Wrap the saw blade around to test the circumference. Then, very carefully reduce the circumference a little at a time until the blade is a perfect fit. Get the picture?

Now, back up to step one. Make that saw blade, say, 110 teeth long. When you test the wooden disk for size, aim for a perfect overlap of those extra ten teeth. When you get the disk sized correctly, attach the blade to the disk with whatever works for you: holes in the blade and screws, holes and nails, epoxy, or whatever.

If your blade pitch is too fine, double the count to 200.

Above all, do not use a variable pitch blade!
So many projects, so little time.

Mr Ron
Posts: 1790
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 12:36 pm
Location: Vancleave, Mississippi

Re: I want to make new lathe feed dials

Post by Mr Ron » Mon Jan 15, 2018 1:36 pm

Orrin wrote:
Mon Jan 15, 2018 8:59 am
Take a length of band saw blade and count 100 teeth. Now, cut a disk of plywood either using a sander or mounting it on your lathe to cut it true. Wrap the saw blade around to test the circumference. Then, very carefully reduce the circumference a little at a time until the blade is a perfect fit. Get the picture?

Now, back up to step one. Make that saw blade, say, 110 teeth long. When you test the wooden disk for size, aim for a perfect overlap of those extra ten teeth. When you get the disk sized correctly, attach the blade to the disk with whatever works for you: holes in the blade and screws, holes and nails, epoxy, or whatever.

If your blade pitch is too fine, double the count to 200.

Above all, do not use a variable pitch blade!
Why didn't I think of that! You are a genius. Thank you much.
Mr.Ron from South Mississippi

John Hasler
Posts: 1242
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2016 4:05 pm
Location: Elmwood, Wisconsin

Re: I want to make new lathe feed dials

Post by John Hasler » Mon Jan 15, 2018 2:34 pm

John Hasler wrote:
Sun Jan 14, 2018 7:58 pm
4 teeth on your 100 tooth blade is 5 divisions on your dial. Mark every 5th division using the 100 tooth blade and then interpolate.
Every *4th* division.

whateg0
Posts: 610
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 3:54 pm
Location: Wichita, KS

Re: I want to make new lathe feed dials

Post by whateg0 » Tue Jan 16, 2018 7:09 pm

John Hasler wrote:
Mon Jan 15, 2018 2:34 pm
John Hasler wrote:
Sun Jan 14, 2018 7:58 pm
4 teeth on your 100 tooth blade is 5 divisions on your dial. Mark every 5th division using the 100 tooth blade and then interpolate.
Every *4th* division.
Nope, every 5th division which would be every 4th tooth.

John Hasler
Posts: 1242
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2016 4:05 pm
Location: Elmwood, Wisconsin

Re: I want to make new lathe feed dials

Post by John Hasler » Tue Jan 16, 2018 7:47 pm

Sorry I was unclear. I was thinking of the teeth on the saw as divisions on the saw.

To be clearer (I hope) using the 100 tooth saw blade as an indexer put a mark on the new dial for every four teeth on the saw blade. You will then have marked every fifth desired dial division.

spro
Posts: 7536
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2006 11:04 pm
Location: mid atlantic

Re: I want to make new lathe feed dials

Post by spro » Wed Jan 17, 2018 8:17 pm

I'm really a proponent of how things are done. We are talking .001+ dials now. Sorry but I wouldn't trust my used or even new stock for this.

Post Reply