Plugging holes in aluminum

Topics include, Machine Tools & Tooling, Precision Measuring, Materials and their Properties, Electrical discussions related to machine tools, setups, fixtures and jigs and other general discussion related to amateur machining.

Moderators: GlennW, Harold_V

ldsgeek

Plugging holes in aluminum

Post by ldsgeek »

I have a brake master cylinder that I need to move the mounting holes on. The new locations will overlap the existing holes so I need to plug those. I don't want to, nor do I have the tools to, weld them closed as I don't want to damage the rest of the master. Should I thread the holes and make aluminum screws to fill them, using loctite stud and bearing mount? Or would plain tight fitting plugs work, again using a loctite? I also have no idea what type of aluminum it is, chinese knock-off of a Brembo cylinder.
John Hasler

Re: Plugging holes in aluminum

Post by John Hasler »

I'd tap the holes and use Loctite.
Magicniner

Post by Magicniner »

I know you don't have access to or the desire to use a blowlamp but for anyone else who searches and looks here because of the thread title Alutight low temperature welding wire would do this job very easily.

Some continue to say it's not actually welding but the original metal does slowly dissolve into the fill metal, I've used this to repair worn gun receivers and broken Myford change wheel covers (integrating bits of Aluminium plate to patch areas on the Myford bits with missing sections) and it gives a good structural repair with just a gas blowlamp as the heat source and some refractory around the part to concentrate the flame and reduce heat loss.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=imEaWns5lo8

I bought 5m of the stuff at the last show where I saw Bjorn as I always want this stuff to hand in the workshop, it's very good!

- Nick
warmstrong1955

Post by warmstrong1955 »

Can you slot them, and use large diameter and thicker flatwashers?