Help with making a rotary table more rigid

Topics include, Machine Tools & Tooling, Precision Measuring, Materials and their Properties, Electrical discussions related to machine tools, setups, fixtures and jigs and other general discussion related to amateur machining.

Moderators: GlennW, Harold_V

RSG

Help with making a rotary table more rigid

Post by RSG »

Hello All!

I have been using a 6" rotab for many years (pictured below) and have found it to be good but as you can see with the four jaw and then three jaw soft jaw chuck on top it sits so high that it lacks rigidity. I've tried to beef it up with a heavy steel base and a compression bolt locking the four jaw chuck down through the center hole but during milling there is more deflection then I care for. With the height of this contraption it loses rigidity.

You may ask,"Why use the soft jaw chuck" , it helps support delicate aluminum parts and is quite quick when doing multiple parts.

I was thinking of trying an 8" rotab which is heavier and either trying to make a low profile four jaw system or adapt the whole thing above to the 8" rotab. I'd appreciate your thoughts on the best way to achieve condensing the whole unit. How difficult would it be to eliminate the four jaw chuck and just dial indicate the soft jaw chuck directly on to the 8" rotab every time?

Any thoughts on this would be appreciated.
Vision is not seeing things as they are, but as they will be.
SteveM

Re: Help with making a rotary table more rigid

Post by SteveM »

If you mount the soft jaw chuck directly on the rotab, you can mill the jaws with an endmill to make them concentric with the centerline of the rotab. Of course, if you want to keep using the same set of soft jaws, this would negate that, as your jaws will have more and more material removed and eventually need to be replaced.

Bolt the three-jaw to a plate so that the plate-to-rotab bolts are exposed and you can tap the chuck into concentricity and then snug it down.