Boring Deep Holes

Topics include, Machine Tools & Tooling, Precision Measuring, Materials and their Properties, Electrical discussions related to machine tools, setups, fixtures and jigs and other general discussion related to amateur machining.

Moderators: GlennW, Harold_V

Bob_W

Boring Deep Holes

Post by Bob_W »

Ok, Probably going to wear out my welcome here as I try out this new site format. But now a real question:

I am just beginning to build a 1/2 scale Olds hit and miss engine. The crankcase is cast iron and I will begin the first major operation of boring the main bearing journals and the cylinder bore soon. The journals will be 13/16" diameter with a bore depth of 4.5" if I go through both sides with one setup. The crankcase is too large to set up on my lathe for line boring (?). After the journals are complete I will bore the cylinder at 1.875 for a depth of 5". I only have a 2.5" boring head for the milling machine for this operation. I have made a boring bar that will reach the 5" depth from .75 dia 4130 steel rod and am just starting making practice cuts with it in some CRS in the lathe. Not sure it will work well in the mill. I expect that I will have to stop several thousandths short and finish by honing and lapping. If I can't do it on my equipment I do at least have a friend that does, but that just isn't the same [img]/ubb/images/graemlins/frown.gif"%20alt="[/img]

Any suggestions on getting the main bearing journal and cylinder bored accurately would be appreciated.

Thanks
Bob
JimGlass

Re: Boring Deep Holes

Post by JimGlass »

Hi Bob;

If I understand correctly, your boring a 13/16 dia hole 4.5" deep. Your depth/diameter ratio is not in your favor becuase the diameter will limit the size and rigidity of the boring bar. However, I think you can do it in a mill. Not sure why you are making your own boring bars?