Pedersen Mills, anyone using them?

Topics include, Machine Tools & Tooling, Precision Measuring, Materials and their Properties, Electrical discussions related to machine tools, setups, fixtures and jigs and other general discussion related to amateur machining.

Moderators: GlennW, Harold_V

dharnell

Pedersen Mills, anyone using them?

Post by dharnell »

Hi,
I purchased a Pedersen PU2 Universal mill last year and I'm starting to get it running. Can't find much info about them online, was wondering if anyone here had one. Would anyone have a manual or a copy of a manual available?

Thanks, Dave
vmil3

Post by vmil3 »

Hi Dave,
I have a Pedersen PU-2 miller and a Instruction & Parts manual,check your private messages for my Email address.
David Powell

Pedersen MIlling Machine.

Post by David Powell »

I have been using a PU 2 as my heavy mill for about 10 years. I bought her from a local high school and had to strip her down to lower the bits into my basement and then reassenble. Mine is a bit worn on the z ways so I always have to make sure I go up about 1/2" on that axis befoer cutting. I drive her with a 1 1/2 horse 220 motor and dont seem to be short of horses, for the work I do. I have a vertical head and a slotter but usually shes used as a horizontal. The V head and slotter are heavy so I have a chain fall above to lift them. The 10 by 50 table is sometimes very handy for those bigger jobs which creep in occasionally.I have easily put a 2" 2flute endmill through 3" plate with only a 1/2" drilled pilot . I havent used her so much since acquiring a small knee mill. but she's ready for action at a moments notice. I believe Pedersen had a good market in Ontario to schools, the dealer was Miller machinery. Regards David Powell.
dharnell

Post by dharnell »

Hi David,