Tool Post Grinder -

Topics include, Machine Tools & Tooling, Precision Measuring, Materials and their Properties, Electrical discussions related to machine tools, setups, fixtures and jigs and other general discussion related to amateur machining.

Moderators: Harold_V, websterz, GlennW

davestea

Tool Post Grinder -

Post by davestea » Sat Feb 22, 2003 9:34 pm

I have an older Unimat spindle and motor that would make a great toolpost grinder for the Smithy lathe. All I have to do is make the adapter for the tool post.

I have read a lot of posts about tool post grinders do's and don'ts and all but do I really need one? I guess if I have to ask then I don't need one - huh? But let's say I do and don't know it - what would I use it for?

As you might guess I am rather new to all this.
Dave
Smithy 3in1, Select Mill, Atlas 6" lathe

Doug_C

Re: Tool Post Grinder -

Post by Doug_C » Sun Feb 23, 2003 12:15 am

Hi Dave,

Since you have it, I'd say it is more of a convenience than a need currently. Consider it another option that may be handy in the future.

These can be used to cut harder materials than can be turned via single point tooling. A superior finish can be achievable for reduced wear with greater bearing surfaces to spread out loads along with finer dimensional control for tight tolerance work.

I have heard, with some experience one can do endmill flute sharpening on small lathes with a low friction free wheeling spindle.

A bit of imagination can find many useful solutions if one is motivated enough.

The light duty may test your patience. It might not spin fast enough or have enough power with reasonable sized wheels to make decent headway.

Some things ya have to live with, or live without. Make do or sell it off and use the funds to make something else do? [img]/ubb/images/graemlins/blush.gif"%20alt="[/img]

DC

Butch

Post by Butch » Sun Feb 23, 2003 1:56 am