Screw for Chinese Co-Ax Indicator Probe?

Topics include, Machine Tools & Tooling, Precision Measuring, Materials and their Properties, Electrical discussions related to machine tools, setups, fixtures and jigs and other general discussion related to amateur machining.

Moderators: Harold_V, websterz, GlennW

User avatar
SteveHGraham
Posts: 7788
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 7:55 pm
Location: Florida

Screw for Chinese Co-Ax Indicator Probe?

Post by SteveHGraham » Sat Jun 21, 2014 6:43 pm

During my recent adventure with the broken drawbar, my CDCO co-ax indicator fell out of the collet. I thought it was undamaged, but it turns out the tiny screw that holds the probe in snapped. The body of the screw is still in the indicator. I'm not worried about that, because it's very loose, and I'm sure I can find a way to turn it. But where am I going to get a replacement? I can't measure the threads because it's so small.

I guess I can go to a good hardware store and root through every small screw they have. I have a feeling the Chinese indicator company is not too excited about supplying parts.
Every hard-fried egg began life sunny-side up.

User avatar
seal killer
Posts: 4515
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: The Land Of Oz (Ahhh, Kansas!)

Re: Screw for Chinese Co-Ax Indicator Probe?

Post by seal killer » Sat Jun 21, 2014 8:28 pm

SteveHGraham--

Is this your indicator?
Fowler Coaxial Indicator-cropped.jpg
If so, here is the screw . . .
Fowler Coaxial Indicator Screw-cropped.jpg
I am not familiar enough with millimeter screws to tell you what it might be. Maybe 2.5 something? (If such even exists: M2.5?) My recommendation is, based on my picture compared to your broken screw, buy a bunch of teeny millimeter screws in an ordered sequence of size and use the one that fits.
--Bill
You are what you write.

User avatar
seal killer
Posts: 4515
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: The Land Of Oz (Ahhh, Kansas!)

Re: Screw for Chinese Co-Ax Indicator Probe?

Post by seal killer » Sat Jun 21, 2014 8:33 pm

SteveHGraham--

My screw is 0.114" in diameter. That would be 2.8956mm.

--Bill
You are what you write.

User avatar
SteveHGraham
Posts: 7788
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 7:55 pm
Location: Florida

Re: Screw for Chinese Co-Ax Indicator Probe?

Post by SteveHGraham » Sat Jun 21, 2014 8:49 pm

Thank you for the help. I'll bet it's the same. I'll run by the store on the way home from church tomorrow and get an assortment.
Every hard-fried egg began life sunny-side up.

User avatar
mcostello
Posts: 861
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2003 10:45 pm
Location: Lancaster, Ohio

Re: Screw for Chinese Co-Ax Indicator Probe?

Post by mcostello » Sat Jun 21, 2014 8:56 pm

It would help a lot for people to buy one of every size metric nut and bolt while at the hardware store. That way you might have something to match up to when a metric fastener is needed.

User avatar
seal killer
Posts: 4515
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: The Land Of Oz (Ahhh, Kansas!)

Re: Screw for Chinese Co-Ax Indicator Probe?

Post by seal killer » Sun Jun 22, 2014 12:33 pm

SteveHGraham--

I'm bugged by your screwy problem. (Plus, I am HIGHLY bored.) I measured my screw at 0.114". The closest metric size is 3mm, which is 0.118".

Here's a table. Scroll down.

--Bill
You are what you write.

User avatar
warmstrong1955
Posts: 3506
Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2010 2:05 pm
Location: Northern Nevada

Re: Screw for Chinese Co-Ax Indicator Probe?

Post by warmstrong1955 » Sun Jun 22, 2014 1:05 pm

I just measured mine. M3 x 0.5
I tested it in a die....too.

Bill
Today's solutions are tomorrow's problems.

J. Randall
Posts: 144
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 6:34 am

Re: Screw for Chinese Co-Ax Indicator Probe?

Post by J. Randall » Sun Jun 22, 2014 11:07 pm

Can't help with your problem, but have to admit when I read your thread title, I thought, is he trying to buy one, or has he got another option.
James

User avatar
SteveHGraham
Posts: 7788
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 7:55 pm
Location: Florida

Re: Screw for Chinese Co-Ax Indicator Probe?

Post by SteveHGraham » Mon Jun 23, 2014 8:56 am

Desperation can be an ugly thing.
Every hard-fried egg began life sunny-side up.

User avatar
ctwo
Posts: 2797
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2012 12:37 pm
Location: Silly Cone Valley

Re: Screw for Chinese Co-Ax Indicator Probe?

Post by ctwo » Mon Jun 23, 2014 11:56 am

I take things apart and keep hardware. PC hard drives, printers, scanners, etc. have good usable components. Many screws too...
Standards are so important that everyone must have their own...
To measure is to know - Lord Kelvin
Disclaimer: I'm just a guy with a few machines...

User avatar
tornitore45
Posts: 1816
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 12:24 am
Location: USA Texas, Austin

Re: Screw for Chinese Co-Ax Indicator Probe?

Post by tornitore45 » Mon Jun 23, 2014 7:47 pm

I take things apart and keep hardware.
We are affected by the same sickness. There is no cure.

Electronic hardware is full of small metric screws such as M3.
Hardware stores around here stop at M4.

Steve if you do not find a suitable replacement, I can send a plain SHCS or even make a knob for you. Just PM.
Mauro Gaetano
in Austin TX

Torch
Posts: 1558
Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2010 7:58 am
Location: Muskoka

Re: Screw for Chinese Co-Ax Indicator Probe?

Post by Torch » Tue Jun 24, 2014 10:16 am

seal killer wrote:I am not familiar enough with millimeter screws to tell you what it might be. Maybe 2.5 something? (If such even exists: M2.5?) My recommendation is, based on my picture compared to your broken screw, buy a bunch of teeny millimeter screws in an ordered sequence of size and use the one that fits.
About 3 years ago Jose Riviera recommended a program called "Screen Calipers" (http://bit.ly/caliperIco). Using that program, and assuming your ruler is in metric, I believe that is a 3mm x 0.5 pitch x 5mm long metric machine screw. In that diameter, 0.5mm is considered coarse thread.

Note: I measured the scale in pixels across 4 divisions, then calibrated by creating a custom unit, 4 of which were that number of pixels. This provides a fairly accurate set of calipers in scale with the displayed image. Until or unless you zoom in/out, of course. Then you have to recalibrate again. A handy piece of software, well worth the $10 over the years.

Post Reply