Old grindstone need help for a stable tool rest

Topics include, Machine Tools & Tooling, Precision Measuring, Materials and their Properties, Electrical discussions related to machine tools, setups, fixtures and jigs and other general discussion related to amateur machining.

Moderators: GlennW, Harold_V

unclefixit

Old grindstone need help for a stable tool rest

Post by unclefixit »

front view (800x533).jpg
This machine needs some kind of wide rest . The present one is not too accurate.
Old Grindstone (800x533).jpg
Hope this gets to the correct place, Im new at this.
Harold_V

Re: Old grindstone need help for a stable tool rest

Post by Harold_V »

Might be a good idea to describe what you're trying to accomplish. I say this because of the speed reduction I see with your setup. Are you truly using a stone, or are you spinning an aluminum oxide grinding wheel? In either case, speed is important, as the stone demands low speed and the wheel performs best at high speed.

Please describe the stone/wheel.
Please indicate what you're trying to accomplish.

Harold
Wise people talk because they have something to say. Fools talk because they have to say something.
unclefixit

Post by unclefixit »

The stone is the a real grindstone as in the old farm grindstone, it is great for sharpening if you have patience.
what I an trying to do is improve the tool rest, the present one (under the two black knobs) is not too stable. I have visions of a tool rest like the one on the Makita horizontal stone grinder but my expertice is short. The rest could mount on the wood base giving a width of about 8 inches.
Harold_V

Post by Harold_V »

Ok, got it! 8)