QCTP Question

All discussion about lathes including but not limited to: South Bend, Hardinge, Logan, Monarch, Clausing and other HSM lathes, including imports

Moderators: GlennW, Harold_V

sledjunk

QCTP Question

Post by sledjunk »

I am new on here and also very new to using a lathe.

I recently purchased a Busy Bee CX706 10 x 22 lathe and I am just learning to use it. I am interested in purchasing a QCTP for it, but there does not seem to be one that is recommended to fit it.

I was told by Busy Bee that the model " B3151 may work with some modification". Does anyone know what level of modification might be required or any other QCTP that may fit?

Thanks in advance.
OlderNewbie

Re: QCTP Question

Post by OlderNewbie »

Assuming a conventional compound slide T-slot, an AXA-style toolpost should fit a 10" lathe. Virtually all of them need to have the T-nut cut to fit your lathe's T-slot. There might be someone on the board willing to help you out; knowing approximately where you are would help.

John
sledjunk

Post by sledjunk »

Thanks, John. I have added my location to my profile.

I will take a look at the AXA style toolposts.
GlennW

Post by GlennW »

Using a 3/8" tool in an AXA QCTP setup the lowest you can get the cutting edge would be 11/16" above the compound rest surface. The highest would be 1 9/16".

That should give you an idea of how it would work for you.
Glenn

Operating machines is perfectly safe......until you forget how dangerous it really is!
sledjunk

Post by sledjunk »

Glenn Wegman wrote:Using a 3/8" tool in an AXA QCTP setup the lowest you can get the cutting edge would be 11/16" above the compound rest surface. The highest would be 1 9/16".

That should give you an idea of how it would work for you.
Thanks and good info. To clarify, though, is the minimum 1 and 1/16 or 11/16?
warmstrong1955

Post by warmstrong1955 »

Eleven/sixteenths. 11/16". Just measured a couple of mine

1-1/16" would be one & one/sixteenth.

:)

Bill