VFD question

All discussion about lathes including but not limited to: South Bend, Hardinge, Logan, Monarch, Clausing and other HSM lathes, including imports

Moderators: GlennW, Harold_V

Glenn Brooks

VFD question

Post by Glenn Brooks »

Hi all, my old iron (2/5 hp 220 volt 3 phase 12" x 48") Standard Modern gear head lathe has a growler low end- lowest speeds are 65, 100, and 150 RPM. These have seen hard military use since 1958 and while still functional, are pretty noisy. The gears are physically worn and will be candidates for replacement at some point.

The higher end in contrast spins like new: 400, 600, 1250 RPM sounds and looks great.

Aside from reading various threads, I have no experience with VFD's.

So, would it be practical to install a VFD to run the machine in one of the higher gears and use a VFD to operate the machine in the 50-250 RPM range? Thus extending the life of the gear box for possibly many years into the (my) future?

If so, would the lathe have equivalent torque etc when making heavy cuts in low gear?

Thanks much for advice you might be able to offer.

Glenn B.
Moderator - Grand Scale Forum

Motive power : 1902 A.S.Campbell 4-4-0 American - 12 5/8" gauge, 1955 Ottaway 4-4-0 American 12" gauge

Ahaha, Retirement: the good life - drifting endlessly on a Sea of projects....
Dave_C

Re: VFD question

Post by Dave_C »

Glenn,

I would say yes! Using the 400 rpm gear and running your drive down to 20% you would have 80 RPM. Some go as low as 15% but that depends on the motor you choose.

Is 2/5 hp a typo or is that what you have? I'd go for at least 1 hp or more, maybe 2 hp or 3 as the cost is actually cheaper than the 1 hp motor. That way you have some mass to keep spindle speed tracking and some reserve torque.

Modern VFD's are pretty easy to set up. Most have a "quick setup" set of instructions that come with the instruction book.