Enough HP for mini-lathe?

All discussion about lathes including but not limited to: South Bend, Hardinge, Logan, Monarch, Clausing and other HSM lathes, including imports

Moderators: GlennW, Harold_V

The_Apprentice

Enough HP for mini-lathe?

Post by The_Apprentice »

I am very new to the hobby (though long ago I did have experience in machine-shop in high school).

I would like to purchase my first ever mini-lathe, but the horse-power is what worries me. I am wanting to work on creating some jewelry, as well as other small metal projects. This may involve working on 15mm diameter round bars, to 2-inch diameter tubes. The material will usually be either 304L stainless steel, or 316L stainless steel.

The main worry here, is if these mini-lathes have enough power for harder metals like that? I have read reviews of some of these mini's as stalling at times, to the point of being un-usable.

Being in Ontario Canada, there are mainly three choices to choose from.

Princess Auto sells a 1/3HP lathe for around a grand. I think enough is said on that...

BusyBeeTools is seeing a 1/2HP lathe for just under a grand (due to Father's day weekend sale).
http://www.busybeetools.com/products/la ... cx704.html

And the other choice I have is KING CANADA. Which is in the same range:
http://www.kingcanada.com/detail/7-x-12 ... 0712ML/308

Maybe I am over-simplifying things, but the last one does not mention HP rating on the motor. So doing some simple math, their motor is 5.5 Amp, and since voltage is 110V, 1 phase, 60 Hz....

That should give us:
(110 * 5.5) / 746 = ~.81 hp.

If I am oversimplifying this, please let me know of my mistake, LOL.

So, going with King Canada, I am getting more than 3/4HP of power on my mini.

Does this make sense, and would this seem sufficient for machining 316 SS material?

Thanks in advance all.
ccfl

Re: Enough HP for mini-lathe?

Post by ccfl »