Looking to buy a new Lathe need some advice.

All discussion about lathes including but not limited to: South Bend, Hardinge, Logan, Monarch, Clausing and other HSM lathes, including imports

Moderators: GlennW, Harold_V

Oldtech

Looking to buy a new Lathe need some advice.

Post by Oldtech »

I asked this on another forum and was directed here...Okay it was more like run outta town for even mentioning an overseas lathe...
Copied from other forum:
I am a retired automotive instructor/mechanic and have experience on automotive lathes/measuring tools etc so I think my learning curve on actual operation won't be too bad. However I have no real grip on the machine's capability/tooling/metallurgy. My intended usage is strictly as a hobbyist at this point.

What I'm wanting to do is have the capability to cut down (lighten, machine off teeth,etc of some smaller automotive gears and machine some one off small parts(likely aluminum) I know the gears are hardened in some fashion but I don't know what kind of tooling and lathe would be needed to accomplish this. I have machined aluminum and cast iron no problem on an automotive brake lathes but not harder steel. Most automotive parts have be hardened in some fashion. I've had this done before but its hard to find shops that want to mess with these smaller jobs.

I've been looking at a couple of new bench lathes. . Grizzly 0602 and Precision Matthews 1030. l know next to nothing about tooling, cutters I might want. Would it be completely unreasonable to think a bench top lathe like this could be up to the task . I'm really not interested in trying to chase down an old american made machine that's not past its prime. I had enough of that restoring old cars. thanks in advance for any input.
John Evans

Re: Looking to buy a new Lathe need some advice.

Post by John Evans »