pulley size, variable speed

All discussion about lathes including but not limited to: South Bend, Hardinge, Logan, Monarch, Clausing and other HSM lathes, including imports

Moderators: GlennW, Harold_V

tmesker12

pulley size, variable speed

Post by tmesker12 »

I am hoping for some info, or to be pushed in the right direction, to find a helpful topic I could not find by searching. I have an old Elgin (Hardinge) lathe, with a 1 hp, 115 volt motor, with step pulleys (6',7',8') connected via a counter shaft. I have been wanting to add a variable speed controller, but one of the step pulleys broke before I even did that. Seems pulleys this size are not readily available, so I am looking to modify my pulley set up and then run the lathe with the speed control. With the upper pulley still intact, what size pulley should be attached to the motor, I am assuming smaller so that my speed control gets the lathe to maximum rpm's when needed, but i am surely missing something..... I am a novice, know just enough to know nothing, but believe the variable speed control will allow me to learn how different metals and tools cut to help me learn. Looking for any and all comments, thanks.
GlennW

Re: pulley size, variable speed

Post by GlennW »

You will need to post the diameters of both step pulleys, the motor rpm, and the rpm range of the spindle in order to get any usable info.

Welcome to the group!
Glenn

Operating machines is perfectly safe......until you forget how dangerous it really is!
tmesker12

Post by tmesker12 »

The motor pulley has 2" 6',7' and 8", the upper has 10,8,7,6. the motor rpm is 1725, not sure of the rpm range on spindle, will post pic when i figure that out.
John Hasler

Post by John Hasler »

> The motor pulley has 2" 6',7' and 8", the upper has 10,8,7,6.