Drum switch to motor (HELP)

All discussion about lathes including but not limited to: South Bend, Hardinge, Logan, Monarch, Clausing and other HSM lathes, including imports

Moderators: Harold_V, GlennW

Post Reply
Douglas1968
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 9:24 am
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contact:

Drum switch to motor (HELP)

Post by Douglas1968 » Thu Feb 08, 2018 9:23 pm

I really appreciate all that you’ve done to help me get to where I am with my Heavy Ten. The pulleys and cone are realigned, removed and installed new bearings, and the door and side panel are at my local body shop getting beautified. Some how, I screwed up the wiring. Your help again is needed my friends. Any additional information or pictures, please just ask. Doug.
Attachments
851A3B33-2533-450F-ADCC-F04D63BA7144.jpeg
6D222AC4-2192-4185-8FDD-2A9C6A69B1E7.png

Douglas1968
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 9:24 am
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contact:

Re: Dum switch to motor (HELP)

Post by Douglas1968 » Thu Feb 08, 2018 9:27 pm

I’m set up for 230 volts. The motor wires are T1, T2, T3, T4, T5 and T8

choprboy
Posts: 251
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2011 11:23 pm

Re: Dum switch to motor (HELP)

Post by choprboy » Thu Feb 08, 2018 9:53 pm

Need a better picture, the flash is obscuring the nameplate "reverse leads xxx & T8 for CCW".

Douglas1968
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 9:24 am
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contact:

Re: Dum switch to motor (HELP)

Post by Douglas1968 » Thu Feb 08, 2018 10:10 pm

Hope this is better
Attachments
FC73975D-85B4-4767-9D26-6F535BA446C9.jpeg
FC73975D-85B4-4767-9D26-6F535BA446C9.jpeg (26.95 KiB) Viewed 2217 times

User avatar
Atkinson_Railroad
Posts: 179
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 6:27 pm
Location: Michigan
Contact:

Re: Dum switch to motor (HELP)

Post by Atkinson_Railroad » Thu Feb 08, 2018 10:45 pm

Connecting your motor as shown in the attached diagrams will operate the motor in forward, and reverse.

There is a discrepancy about the 230 volt connection related to the higher potential to ground, and the winding still being hot with the 230-volt arrangement despite the motor being shut off with the drum switch you are working with.

An additional two-pole switch rated for the motor horsepower cutting out both line leads before the drum switch would isolate this issue.
Unless there’s some reason you prefer to operate the motor at 230 volts, a 115 volt connection arrangement would not have the problem
the 230-volt connection exhibits.

Both connections will work… it’s just that the 115 volt connection is safer for the switch you are using.

If by chance your piece of equipment runs forward when you move the switch for operation in reverse,
swap lead numbers 8 and 5.

John
Attachments
208-230 VOLT CONNECTION.jpg
115 VOLT.jpg

Douglas1968
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 9:24 am
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contact:

Re: Dum switch to motor (HELP)

Post by Douglas1968 » Thu Feb 08, 2018 11:05 pm

John,Thanks for sharing your knowledge and rapid response.

User avatar
wlw-19958
Posts: 1072
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2006 5:41 pm
Location: Lewes, DE

Re: Dum switch to motor (HELP)

Post by wlw-19958 » Thu Feb 08, 2018 11:57 pm

Hi There,

There is another way to hook-up that motor for
230V single phase that will break both L1 and L2
leads using that drum switch.

Unfortunately, I no longer use PhotoBucket (a.k.a.
PhotoBlackmail) and cannot post the diagram.

I can relate the connections using the numbering
system John used:
(1) T4,
(2) L2,
(3) Not Used,
(4) T5,
(5) T1,
(6) L1.

At the motor, tie T2, T3 and T8 together. If the motor
runs backwards, swap T5 with T8.

(Edit: you can also reverse the motor's relative
rotation by moving T5 from (3) to (4).)

So, it is okay to hook this up to 230V service and
not worry about having a "live" wire running to
the motor .

Good Luck!
-Blue Chips-
Webb

Douglas1968
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 9:24 am
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contact:

Re: Drum switch to motor (HELP)

Post by Douglas1968 » Fri Feb 09, 2018 7:44 am

You da man, Blue!

stephenc
Posts: 253
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2014 6:13 pm
Location: youngstown ohio

Re: Drum switch to motor (HELP)

Post by stephenc » Thu Feb 22, 2018 12:16 am

I have a question , is it at all possible to make a three pole drum switch work with a three phase motor or does it have to be a four pole switch

User avatar
wlw-19958
Posts: 1072
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2006 5:41 pm
Location: Lewes, DE

Re: Drum switch to motor (HELP)

Post by wlw-19958 » Thu Feb 22, 2018 12:45 am

Hi There,
stephenc wrote:
Thu Feb 22, 2018 12:16 am
I have a question , is it at all possible to make a three pole drum switch work with a three phase motor or does it have to be a four pole switch
Generally Yes (unless the three pole switch is some queer internal connections).
The most common one I run into is the Cutler-Hammer three pole double throw.

Good Luck!
-Blue Chips-
Webb

Post Reply