the newbie says Hi and a question.

All discussion about lathes including but not limited to: South Bend, Hardinge, Logan, Monarch, Clausing and other HSM lathes, including imports

Moderators: GlennW, Harold_V

Diogenes on the hill

the newbie says Hi and a question.

Post by Diogenes on the hill »

Hi all, been lurking here for awhile now and just now jumped in the water. Not a machinist by trade, more the Jack of all trades guy, and self taught on just about everything, though I am not so proud as to think I know it all: Ha, only fools think such. No, the more I learn, the more I realize I really know very little and its a big bad world out there that has many surprises for the unwary.
Anywhoos, my current lineup is a venerable but beautiful 1921 27B Southbend 11, a cheapy chinese 3-1 that (hopefully) is about to be retired, and, oodles of imagination, drive and a really hot fire for the crucibles. I am slowly building a vertical mill to replace the chinese (hf 5980) and subbing out the castings to a local foundry so things are in iron, not aluminum.

Now, as for my question. I am making tapered mandrels for turning 'tween centers, and do not have a taper attachment. . The mandrels are only .002" difference between ends. One end +.001" the other -. I know I can offset the TS, but has anyone tried the "paper trick" of using a strip off paper on one side of the MT to gain just a touch offcenter. I am going to try it, but was wondering if anyone else has and if so, what kind of success/failure they saw.
Stupid questions remain silent. So speak up.
John Hasler

Re: the newbie says Hi and a question.

Post by John Hasler »

Welcome to the group. This is the first I've heard of that technique. Let us know how it goes.
pete

Post by pete »