Setting the compound at 0* or 30*

All discussion about lathes including but not limited to: South Bend, Hardinge, Logan, Monarch, Clausing and other HSM lathes, including imports

Moderators: GlennW, Harold_V

RSG

Setting the compound at 0* or 30*

Post by RSG »

I was working on the lathe today and got to thinking about how I set the compound on the lathe at 0* while performing regular machining operations but every video and other persons lathe I see its set to 30*.

What's the difference/advantage of setting the compound at 30* as opposed to just leaving it at 0* when performing standard machining operations. I've always set my to 0* unless I was threading.

Thanks in advance.
Vision is not seeing things as they are, but as they will be.
curtis cutter

Re: Setting the compound at 0* or 30*

Post by curtis cutter »

I am by no means an expert but my QCTP can rotate 360 degrees to any angle and I leave the compound at just under 30 degrees for threading.
Gregg
Just let go of it, it will eventually unplug itself.
John Hasler

Post by John Hasler »

I set it at whatever angle keeps it out of the way. If it isn't in the way it stays where I last used it which is quite likely to be 29.5. Don't leave it set at almost but not quite 0 or almost but not quite 90, though.
wlw-19958

Post by wlw-19958 »

Hi There,

Like others have said, most people just leave the compound at
whatever angle they last used. Setting the compound at 30° (or
29.5°) is convenient for threading.

Another compound setting I use is 84°. This gives a reasonably
close 10 to 1 ratio in that a .001" movement of the compound
will move the cutter .0001" towards (or away from) the centerline
of the lathe. (actually, 84.26° will yield a true 10 to 1 ratio but
this would be difficult to set on most compounds and 84° has only
a 4.5% error).

Good Luck!
-Blue Chips-
Webb
Last edited by wlw-19958 on Sat Jan 05, 2019 9:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.
GlennW

Post by GlennW »