Old Earle Lathe

All discussion about lathes including but not limited to: South Bend, Hardinge, Logan, Monarch, Clausing and other HSM lathes, including imports

Moderators: Harold_V, GlennW

Post Reply
User avatar
Arbo
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Jan 17, 2003 9:41 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Old Earle Lathe

Post by Arbo » Mon Jan 27, 2003 8:24 am

I have available for my use an old Earle Lathe. It is set up to run a 3" flat belt for the drive system. The problem is that the belsts are rotted and unrepairable. I was thinking that it would be safer and maybe easier if it could be converted to a different drive system. I don't know much about it, but there are a series of gears on the end of it. Does anyone have any ideas or suggestions on how I might go about this? I can post pictures if it would help. Thank you.
Arbo & Thor (the junkyard dog)

User avatar
Harold
Posts: 50
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2003 10:21 am
Location: Northern NJ
Contact:

Re: Old Earle Lathe

Post by Harold » Mon Jan 27, 2003 8:30 pm

Pics would be real helpful. You can get modern replacement flat belts made from fibre. they are real tough. Nothing wrong with a flat belt driven jackshaft with a v belt to the motor. I don't know what your budget is or the condition/worth of this machine is - a VFD would be great but not the cheapest solution.
Measure it with a mic, mark it with chalk, cut it with an axe!

User avatar
philinmt
Posts: 77
Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2003 7:57 pm
Location: missoula, montana

Re: Old Earle Lathe

Post by philinmt » Mon Jan 27, 2003 8:50 pm

You can get belts made but you would probly have to take the lathe apart, or for a good price you could buy poly vee belts and run them on the back side, or if you want to do a real good job and you have more than one lathe you could cut the pullys to fit a poly vee belt ( this will handle 500% more hp than a flat belt)...Lots of luck Phil in Mt

User avatar
cammer
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Jan 07, 2003 5:36 am
Location: shepherdsville ky.

Re: Old Earle Lathe

Post by cammer » Tue Jan 28, 2003 4:26 pm

i have a monarch 18x60 flat belt built in 1916 it has lima drive with flat belt works good. i don't know how to post pic on here. if you email me i will email you pictures also a way to drive it thanks jon

Post Reply