Lubricants to use on the moving parts of a lathe????

All discussion about lathes including but not limited to: South Bend, Hardinge, Logan, Monarch, Clausing and other HSM lathes, including imports

Moderators: GlennW, Harold_V

Ridgerunner

Lubricants to use on the moving parts of a lathe????

Post by Ridgerunner »

I am very new at this and I have a question regarding lubricants to be used on the lathe. I have just finished refurbrishing my lathe and all is nice and clean. As I re-assemble the parts I need to lubricate them so that all moves properly, of course. However, in this new day of space-age lubricants would a good coating of, say, lithium grease or Slide-eze, or some other type of lubricant work just as well as light-weight machine oil? I realize that most of you will support the oil, however wouldn't something of a dry variety work better and not snare pieces of metal and such which would damage the fine moving surfaces of the machine? I hope that this isn't a stupid question, but I am new at this "fine madness".
PeteM

Post by PeteM »

You'll want to search the archives -- this is an often discussed subject. In general, buy "way oil" for the bed of your lathe and leadscrew -- pretty much all the exposed surfaces. It stays put and there's nothing better. This is available in gallon containers for about $15-$20 from McMaster, MSC, and other suppliers and will last you a long time. The lighter weight of Mobil Vactra (#2) is one good choice.

Plain machine oil, without additives, is typically used for lubrication points for sleeve bearings and the like. On slides, your light way oil is good.