Lathe Mounting

All discussion about lathes including but not limited to: South Bend, Hardinge, Logan, Monarch, Clausing and other HSM lathes, including imports

Moderators: Harold_V, GlennW

Post Reply
McGaughran
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2011 1:22 pm

Lathe Mounting

Post by McGaughran » Sat Sep 24, 2011 3:28 pm

Hello, seeking advice on mounting a Craftsman 12X42" bench lathe. currently mounted to a 1/4 " metal bench but seems to vibrate at higher speeds. Would a thick plate as a base bench top serve as a stiffener for the lathe?

stevec
Posts: 1949
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2010 12:40 pm
Location: N.S. Canada

Re: Lathe Mounting

Post by stevec » Sat Sep 24, 2011 3:52 pm

I would tend to think that imbalance would produce vibrations more than lack of stiffness in the bench top.
What kind of "higher speeds" are you talking about?
Possibly beyond the capabilities of a Craftsman 12 x 42?

McGaughran
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2011 1:22 pm

Re: Lathe Mounting

Post by McGaughran » Sat Sep 24, 2011 4:02 pm

The vibration trends to come through the belt drive motor set up that hangs off the back of the lathe. I have installed a link belt and that helps. Just seems to carry out to the bedway more than I prefer. Am wondering if heavy base would add stability to the set up.

thirtycal
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2011 10:04 pm
Location: Blossom, TX

Re: Lathe Mounting

Post by thirtycal » Sat Sep 24, 2011 4:21 pm

A thicker table would help but finding the source of vibration would be better. Try tightening the belt a little if it is causing the vibration. This isn't the machine that was for sale in Paris, TX last week is it?

flutedchamber
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2011 12:14 am

Re: Lathe Mounting

Post by flutedchamber » Sat Sep 24, 2011 5:32 pm

I would have thought the link belt would cause MORE vibrations.

stevec
Posts: 1949
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2010 12:40 pm
Location: N.S. Canada

Re: Lathe Mounting

Post by stevec » Sat Sep 24, 2011 7:29 pm

flute, I was surprised too. But, amazingly they do reduce vibrations some and handle smaller dia. pulleys too.

flutedchamber
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2011 12:14 am

Re: Lathe Mounting

Post by flutedchamber » Sat Sep 24, 2011 10:26 pm

stevec wrote:flute, I was surprised too. But, amazingly they do reduce vibrations some and handle smaller dia. pulleys too.
I guess if the belt speed is held down it would. First I would check for a lumpy belt, next a bent shaft or shafts and third bent pulleys.

McGaughran
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2011 1:22 pm

Re: Lathe Mounting

Post by McGaughran » Sat Sep 24, 2011 11:10 pm

Thanks, I will try your suggestion.

User avatar
J Tiers
Posts: 610
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 10:20 pm
Location: St Louis

Re: Lathe Mounting

Post by J Tiers » Sun Sep 25, 2011 9:45 am

Eh......... a 1/4" top is a drum head...... yeah you shouldn't have vibrations just in general, but the top is thin regardless.

Yes, a thicker top will reinforce the machine to some degree. If you search over at the HSM site, a fellow posting as "artfulbodger" just had a concrete bench made. I don't know if he has any data on before and after, but evidence from other sources suggests that a very rigid base does wonders.

If it was me, I'd put two layers of 3/4" ply under that top. Glue the layers together, and bolt through with the mounting bolts, using a generous sized washer and plate underneath the ply on each mounting bolt. A couple screws or bolts through the top into it elsewhere will also help.

If you have excess vibration, it will still be there, but that should take care of the "drumhead" effect if the bench is reasonably close to the lathe size..

hammermill
Posts: 2938
Joined: Sun Jun 27, 2010 10:43 pm
Location: pendleton or

Re: Lathe Mounting

Post by hammermill » Sun Sep 25, 2011 2:16 pm

the linkes some call them segmented, smooth thing out because of increased flexability

i use them where ever i can and keep a legenth as a universal backup. it fits most legenths
hi hi

John Hill
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2011 1:38 am
Location: near Christchurch New Zealand

Re: Lathe Mounting

Post by John Hill » Fri Sep 30, 2011 12:50 am

J Tiers wrote:
Yes, a thicker top will reinforce the machine to some degree. If you search over at the HSM site, a fellow posting as "artfulbodger" just had a concrete bench made. I don't know if he has any data on before and after, but evidence from other sources suggests that a very rigid base does wonders.

..

My concrete machine bench is a great success in every respect.

Post Reply