Lathe Selecting

All discussion about lathes including but not limited to: South Bend, Hardinge, Logan, Monarch, Clausing and other HSM lathes, including imports

Moderators: GlennW, Harold_V

Jbt68

Lathe Selecting

Post by Jbt68 »

Hi,
I will ask a rather basic newbie question, but try to be somewhat focused!

I am brand new to live steam railroading and concurrently, to the machinist craft. Keeping in mind that I intend to build in the 1.5" scale, I would like some recommendations regarding general makes and models of relevant lathes. I would prefer something American-made, and will certainly consider classic used machines (seems almost a given for preference number one). This question does not fall under the category of "how to evaluate a used lathe." That subject seems to be adequately covered both here and elsewhere. Not to mention that I will be consulting a hopefully growing group of mentors! What I would like to come up with is a short list of potential candidates to keep an eye out for. What is the appropriate size to handle most if not everything I might encounter in 1.5" scale railroading? Will a machine with a 9" swing cut it, (no pun intended) for instance?

Thanks for your help!

Bryan
Even in the dungheap a busy hen can bring forth a tasty corn - Johannes Kepler
spro

Re: Lathe Selecting

Post by spro »

There are many candidates. The answer isn't as simple as the question for while narrowing your search, another best suited, slides past. Perhaps the question should be which to avoid, regardless of condition and accessories.
John Evans

Post by John Evans »