Optimum mill drill advise please

Discussion on all milling machines vertical & horizontal, including but not limited to Bridgeports, Hardinge, South Bend, Clausing, Van Norman, including imports.

Moderators: GlennW, Harold_V

Tony Z

Optimum mill drill advise please

Post by Tony Z »

Hi Guys

This is my first post here so I think I'll share a little about myself...

I am from South Africa. A Marine Engineer by trade and aircooled VW enthusiast for fun.

I am busy building myself a workshop and in it I am planning on putting a Mill/drill machine.
The problem I have is that the only dovetail Z-axis machine I can find in SA is made by Optimum.

I have considered the second hand market, but I have been burned many times by trying to get bargains and dont really trust used machines that have been used all day for 30 years. So for this reason I have decided to go for a new machine.
Unless I win the lotto, then I am going to have to stick with a mill/drill.

I do have 3ph 440V and work in Metric. Sorry guys, imperial makes very little sense to me.
I cannot fathom why fractional is easier to use than counting from 1 to 10... :mrgreen:

So... the choices I have...
Optimum MB4 or F40E
They are both about the same price....

which one and why?

The sales pitch on their website is drawing me towards the MB4 because of the MT4 spindle and also the added Z-axis height.

Any advise and/or experience with these machines will be highly appreciated.
Optimum MB4 or Optimum F40E

thanks
SteveHGraham

Re: Optimum mill drill advise please

Post by SteveHGraham »

I have nothing useful to add, but imperial does suck. Bad.
Every hard-fried egg began life sunny-side up.
ctwo

Post by ctwo »

Standards are so important that everyone must have their own...
To measure is to know - Lord Kelvin
Disclaimer: I'm just a guy with a few machines...
hammermill

Post by hammermill »

Get the dovetailmachine don't worry once you get bifocals you will not be able to visual size anything anyway