Enco 91002 Clutch Question

Discussion on all milling machines vertical & horizontal, including but not limited to Bridgeports, Hardinge, South Bend, Clausing, Van Norman, including imports.

Moderators: GlennW, Harold_V

datmony

Enco 91002 Clutch Question

Post by datmony »

First, thanks for accepting me to the forum. Second, apologies as I am a complete newbie when it comes to milling machines or in this case a mill drill. I was recently able to pick up a nice condition Enco 91002 for an absolute song. It was $200 including a power feed for the table and including quite a bit of tooling. I was then able to follow that the next day with the purchase of a ton of nice milling equipment for another $200. So all said and done, I have a bunch of stuff to play with and I have it for cheap.

I cleaned up the mill-drill (and yes I have read thoroughly on its limitations and am not expecting the world, this is more of a learning tool that I will resell at some point for a knee mill) and the only weird thing I am running into is the clutch itself. This is the item that you can screw in a collar on and make it so it engages the micro adjust crank handle for the quill or you can leave it unengaged and use the unit as a drill press. The issue I am finding is that the clutch fits incredibly tightly on the shaft and as a result does not fully disengage and when you use the handle to operate the unit as a drill press it feels "chunky" because the teeth are still ever so slightly engaged.

I was able to remove the clutch previously and see that it is simply holding a compressed spring in place but am finding that the clutch fits incredibly tightly on the shaft and will not fully disengage. I am guessing this is not normal and that it should fully disengage so that the drill press operation is smooth.