Simple setup

Discussion on all milling machines vertical & horizontal, including but not limited to Bridgeports, Hardinge, South Bend, Clausing, Van Norman, including imports.

Moderators: GlennW, Harold_V

Harold_V

Simple setup

Post by Harold_V »

I have little experience with wood working, nor do I care much for the craft. However, for the past year or so I've been engaged in rebuilding a large number of old pieces of furniture (some folks call them antiques), and have been forced to do considerable work with wood. As I have few wood working tools, I've been using my lathe and mill for much of the work. It's slow, but it gets the job done.

Today I needed to make some thin strips to tighten the slop in a pair of drawers. I had already rebuilt the slide areas, including adding Teflon to the slides, so they are much easier to move, and I expect it will prolong their useful life considerably. The pieces I machined have been installed on the sides of the cabinet, to center the drawers properly and narrow the gap that was way too large between the drawers and guides.