How To Bore Using a Mill by a Total Newb

Discussion on all milling machines vertical & horizontal, including but not limited to Bridgeports, Hardinge, South Bend, Clausing, Van Norman, including imports.

Moderators: GlennW, Harold_V

seal killer

How To Bore Using a Mill by a Total Newb

Post by seal killer »

All--

A couple of you have asked me to update you on my boring experiences. I herewith comply!

I bored a hole. Fairly succuessfully, at that. Along the way, I discovered many things that I did not know. A few of them are so OBVIOUS that I have never seen them mentioned on this forum, but for a person new to the boring assembly, they are vital.

First, I beg the experts to forgive me for writing this in a style that conveys I know what I am doing, for I most definitely do not. This is just my writing style that I have used for decades to convey things about which I DO know something, a lot, in fact. (Machining is certainly not one of them!)

I invite everyone to jump in and correct my mistakes and other blunders.

Here is a teaser picture to get us started. A few months ago, I started work on a skid-steer robot. I needed some bearing blocks. So, I step-drilled holes (step-drill: start with a small drill bit and work your way up to the size with which you finish). I did not like the finished appearance. All I had to work with at the time was a drill press. Our friend Harold reluctantly told me I might try reaming the drilled hole. (Harold is a self-admitted non-fan of reaming.) So, I bought a chuck-mounted reamer the same size as the holes I had drilled and "finished" them with the reamer. Although I was pleased with the results, they were still not PERFECT like you see in photographs or in some products you buy.