Milling machine parts help

Discussion on all milling machines vertical & horizontal, including but not limited to Bridgeports, Hardinge, South Bend, Clausing, Van Norman, including imports.

Moderators: GlennW, Harold_V

Mac metal

Milling machine parts help

Post by Mac metal »

I recently bought a Vbrp beaver milling machine at auction, been wanting one for awhile, and this was cheap enough to jump on.. Seems like a bit too much machine for a beginner though.
Aside from that, someone bought all the spindles and collets w/o me knowing.
Do I need to buy all this tooling immediately to get started or are there a few basic pieces I can get, to start getting the feel of it? Still contemplating trying to sell it and pick up a smaller complete one, before waiting too much time and money on this, but wanted to check with the experts first.
Thx
Mac
neanderman

Re: Milling machine parts help

Post by neanderman »

I'm a newbie myself, and no 'expert', but that's a nice machine. Unless it left you totally strapped for cash, I wouldn't sell it. If you have a real interest in milling, you'll eventually grow into this machine.

And unless there is something major missing, I'm sure you can get started with just a few 'essentials', though I'll let the 'experts' chime in as to what those might be. :)
Ed

LeBlond Dual Drive, 15x30
US-Burke Millrite MVI
Atlas 618
Files, snips and cold chisels

Proud denizen of the former "Machine Tool Capitol of the World"
Richard_W

Post by Richard_W »

I assume it takes R8 tooling? Since you didn't say. A set of R8 collets and a vise and jacob's drill chuck would get you started. You would need to buy them if you bought a new mill and since they are popular most likely your next mill will take the same tooling. I would buy the tooling.

Richard W.

Edit: You will need a clamp set also.
Mac metal

Post by Mac metal »